1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I don't know what to do

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by wallrose, Jan 21, 2011.

1. wallrose

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I really don't know what I am going to do with my life. I can only distract myself with school for another year, and then what?
    I don't know how I will ever be able to support myself. I doubt I ever will be able to.
    I'm just really scared. I'm not good at anything, so I don't have any direction to take with school, I don't have a job, and the whole idea of working is extremely intimidating to me. I just don't know what it going to happen, and it is scaring me shitless.
    I essentially only have one more year of life, and then, god knows what. If I go on to tertiary education, I will fail miserably, and the whole thing will be a huge waste of time and money. If I get a job and start working full time, how does the rest of my life look? How many 17 year old full time workers are there? Not many, if any at all. And how many of them have any success in life? I would have to say somewhere between none, and none.
    I just don't know what to do. People tell me to make these decisions, but how am I supposed to decide what I will do if all the options ruin my life? I have no skills, no good qualities at all, so I won't be able to do anything with my life. I won't have a life. I will be some bum, who gets to choose between being supported by his parents for the rest of his life, or living in the gutter, begging to feed himself, until he finally starves to death.

2. Mogget

In the US, we have several vocational education programs, where you go to school much more cheaply than tertiary ed and learn a trade rather than getting a degree. You might wanna check and see if Australia has anything like that. See if you can talk to a vocational counselor.

3. zeratul

zeratul Guest