1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boyfriend too dependent, plus other issues

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Words, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Words

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Lately I've become really, really tired out due to my overly dependent boyfriend. Feeling this way really makes me feel terrible, as I feel like I should always be there for him, and I want to be, but it's just tiring me to death.

To make things clear, I'm an exchange student living in China, but right now I'm back at home in Canada for one month. My boyfriend lives in China in a city about 3 hours away from the city I live in there.

When we are together everything is perfect, as long as I am spending time with him I am so happy and so is he. I really cherish the times we have together and therefore I have grown to love him, and I really want him in my life. The issue begins any second I show any interest in anything but him.

We also have a sort of long distance relationship as he lives 3 hours away from me, I see him on weekends and on holidays, I've recently spent about a week and a half long holiday with him entirely staying at my place, it was great, but even when I had to leave to do tests a few times he would often get depressed, from a mere few hours alone. I should have seen this coming a long time ago, as when he would first come over for weekends he would get really angry/sad if I would go do my tutoring work for an hour or two, which I thought wasn't entirely unreasonable, considering I had an obligation to my student, but ultimately I quit my tutoring job because he couldn't take it, even for two hours a week. When we're not together, if I don't text him for even a few hours he becomes angry/depressed.