1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I Tell My Student?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by ElizabethAnne, Jan 26, 2011.

1. ElizabethAnne

This is kind of stressing me out.

I'm a volunteer ESL tutor (English as a Second Language). I teach an 30 yr old lady from Morocco.

In the coming weeks, we will do a lesson about family relationships - husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend etc. Because the Moroccan culture places a very high value on families, doubtless we will talk about our own families. Should I talk about my girlfriend who I live with? In Morocco, it's illegal to be gay, and I'm afraid she will respond quite negatively to this information. I'm usually quite confident about coming out, since in Canada, it's pretty okay and frankly, because I look like a huge dyke. But I don't think she'll get those cues, and I'm pretty sure it won't be okay with her because of her cultural background. I'm quite anxious about telling her, but also it's REALLY exhausting to stay in the closet.

I grew up in a family that believed that gay people had demons inside of them, and my mom wouldn't let a gay person in the house in case they left behind some sort of demonic influence. I don't think my student thinks this, but my point is that homophobia is hard to take, no matter what reason they give. I'm afraid that my student will kick me out of her house and phone the agency in disgust and embarrass me etc etc etc.

Anyways, I'm clearly a bit frazzled about this. Any ideas/advice/thoughts would be so welcome!

2. zeratul

zeratul Guest

Morocco is a Muslim country so u should research what it say in the quoran about this. You have two options,

Hide it and u will face no confrontations. Or teach this newcomer to Canada a lesson in our spirit of tolerance. If she calls the agency and the agency penalizes you, you can file a claim in the Ontario Human Rights Tribunal.

3. MIJ VI

MIJ VI Guest