1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay Bar?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by konfused612, Feb 21, 2011.

1. konfused612

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I recently moved and am in the processing of finding the gay community here. I’ve heard about this bar which has a gay night Thursday nights. I intend to check it out, but I’m not sure how to approach it. I’ve gone to bars before, but always with friends (and new people I’ve meet have been friends of friends). Since I’m new in town I’d be going out by myself. I’d like to meet other gay people in town and hopefully make some friends (or perhaps something more) …

I’m still new to the gay bar scene and was just wondering how others have approached it. I’m planning on going this Thursday regardless just to try it out and see what happens, but if anyone has any thoughts, advise, or cares to share some of their experiences I’d appreciate hearing …

2. LostandFound

LostandFound Guest

The people I know who've done this wear something really eye-catching so that people have come over and talked to them.

Or what I did once was just went and found a group of people that looked friendly, told them I was new and didn't know anybody and we ended up chatting for a while. Later that night I ended up meeting other people just naturally and I never really spoke to that group afterwards but for at least a little while I wasn't a loner hanging on the wall. It's hit or miss though, I tried it another time and ended up leaving the club after half an hour because I wasn't making any progress.

3. Filip

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Personally, I haven't got the courage to go to a regular bar by myself, let alone go to a gay bar.