1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Don't know what to expect when coming out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Dykezz, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Dykezz

Hey guys,

After a very long process of accepting myself and figuring things I have decided that my happiness is more important than what other people will think of me.
    So I'm gonna start coming out to some friends. Next week me and a friend are gonna go to a movie and have some drinks. She will be the second person I will come out to.(the first person was my sister, she reacted kinda blahh and than we never talked about it) I think my friend will definitely ask some questions but I really have no clue what to expect! I'm not a very experienced with the whole gay thing and I'm not an expert on it.
    What kind of questions did you guys get when coming out? And is there a way to prepare? Or should I just go with the flow and not worrie to much?

2. TyRawr

Board Member Full Member

Its natural to be afraid, and as you grow into who you are the "gay thing" wont seem so strange anymore. My advice is just not to lie, at all, and just express how you feel all the way to the core. And with friends, coming out is much less difficult, if you tell them you know your gay, then they should be pretty understanding. They might ask questions like "how do you know" or "how long have you known" but really its not that bad. With your parents, you have to much more delicate. For some reason it is difficult for some parents to know that their son is gay, but with others, its is expected and they have known for a long time. You have to decide what kind of people your friends are, and what kind of people your parents are and then act on best instinct.

3. InaRut

What you have to realize first and foremost is that you are in the Netherlands. Therefore you are made up of 80% Awesome. Coming out shouldn't be a problem