1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How old should i be before i come out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by jaddison, Apr 13, 2011.

1. jaddison

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hey! im a 14 year old student in England, i've never been attracted to girls, but last year i started getting feelings towards boys.

It's been about 10 months and nothing has changed. i have a few crushes and still find boys attractive. what ive noticed however is that the people in forums etc. seem to be coming out when they are like 17/18 years old, and once you are out of the closet you can't go back in.

So this is my problem: im 15 very soon, never been attracted to girls, starting to feel more and more upset about no-one knowing, and want to burst out of the closet, if anything to tell this boy in my year, will, how i feel.

could my feelings change? does anyone know of any cases where people who though they were gay and turned out not to be? Because it certainly doesn't feel like a phase.

What im looking for is anyone out there who at one point was almost 100% they were gay and turned out not to be, because i dont want to be stuck labeled as something im not at school.

---- James

(!) <--- why a dancing banana?? because i can x

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Welcome to EC!

The two main things to consider when deciding whether/when to come out are yourself, and your environment. First off, you. You seem pretty sure of your sexuality. There hasn't been a lot of "well, maybe" or doubt in your past, so I'd say you're on pretty solid ground there. Next, your surroundings. How are gays treated at your school? In your environment? How do your parents feel about gays? If all of these appear to be positive (or even neutral), then I'd say you're good to go. :slight_smile:

Lex

3. MusicIsLife