1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kids coming out very young

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by xballetxbeautyx, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Hey guys, I know I haven't been around much lately but I was having trouble finding some info and thought I'd pop in. I'm an officer of our school's "diversity club" - we don't have a real GSA but this is the closest thing - and the teacher/sponsor brought up a question that a friend of hers had asked her. The friend's son is in elementary school, I'm not sure what grade but maybe second or third, and he has come out already. The mom is completely fine with it, and so far the kids in his class are too, but she's worried for how people will treat him as he gets older. The teacher asked us to find any information we could about this.

The kid is not transgender (I don't think... though she did mention something about a different child...) but I think the documentary about the MTF child named Josie would be a good one anyway... does anyone know the name of it? I also thought of getting some PFLAG information to her. Any other ideas? Documentaries, articles, etc.? Thanks!

2. Revan

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    PFLAG is a great resource indeed. I'm not really sure why you're looking up trans-related stuff, you said the child isn't trans, so is he or she gay? Or are you also looking around in regards to the other child too. In either case, PFLAG could be the only resource you'd need to look around for. Other than that, just do some google searches and such. I'm sure others have some good ideas as well.

3. InaRut