1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ignoring parents?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by ReptarsWrath, Apr 27, 2011.

1. ReptarsWrath

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I have looked at this site for a while and finally decided to become a member realizing I could for sure use some advice about everything. I'm nervous/excited for my first post.

Here's the deal. I am 19 and I am a freshman in college a state away from my hometown. I'm bi, and I lean a lot more towards guys. For about nine months my parents have known about my sexuality. My mom went through my e-mail account and read some facebook messages between a friend and myself in which I told him I was bi. So she sent me a text to check my email and she had sent me a long email in which she told my dad already and asking a bunch of questions. At that point I have NEVER NEVER NEVER even imagined telling them. I was pissed. They always wanted to talk about it, never in person mind you. Always via email. I answered some questions and ignored others. I was still very much upset that they knew. Things got better and we just really didn't talk about it often for a couple months. We all had a lot to process. My parents had to come to terms with having a bisexual son and I had to realize that my parents now knew fully who I was. It was terrifying. My parents both said they accepted me and loved me. My dad said he always kind of knew and was just waiting for me to tell them.