1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

social anxiety advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by baseballkid224, Jun 9, 2011.

1. baseballkid224

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    hey everyone

It's my first time posting here, so i'm going to start off my introducing myself. My name is David. I'm a gay, 18 year old guy from northern california, desperate for some advice.

currently Im a senior in high school, and I am thinking of coming out right after graduation so that I can head off to college with a clean slate. If you asked me when I was going to come out a year or two ago, i would've said probably never, because I was so ashamed. But I've really come to terms with my sexuality, and will probably slowly come out to everyone within the next few months, starting with my family / close friends.
    nobody in my town is homophobic at all; i live in a pretty liberal area, so I know that coming out will not really be a problem. besides a few douchebag jocky guys in my grade who enjoy being dicks to everyone, of course.
    anyways, this past year, i think i've developed social anxiety. I've probably had it my whole life, but its become much more intense recently. I think it's from always wondering what people think of me all the time, and self observing to make sure I dont sound too "gay" or anything. BUt now, i think its just become an unconscious habit of mine to be insecure with myself, because anytime I get into a conversation with someone, my mind begins to race and I think to myself "what if i screw something up?", or "What if i say something stupid and they dont like me anymore?". I'm fairly certain its from constantly worrying about being judged for being gay. does anyone else feel this way? and if so, do you think that when i come out, and become more confident with myself, that this will go away? I really hope so, because I"m kind of tortured with this.