1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boyfriend's parents

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by JamesW, Jul 24, 2011.

1. JamesW

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi all,

I'm new to this as you can see...
    I'm having a bit of problems with my boyfriend's parents who don't know he is gay or seem to accept he is gay.
    We've been together for about nine months now and his Mother doesn't even know I exist or that he is gay, his Father allegedly knows but is not keen to meet me for some reason.
    It's all a bit weird for me as I came out about 11 years ago to my whole family who are fine with my sexuality now and have met my boyfriend. I know what it's like for him as my parents are of a similar background and didn't take it well initially, but are now brilliant with it, so much that it isn't even an issue anymore.

I'm getting fed up with feeling second class all the time as he is very close to his family, which means I am excluded from family weddings, days out etc. We practically live together although we have never formally moved in together, we both have our own apartments and spend time together in both.

I have explained how I feel to him but he is not very good about talking about relationship issues....or dealing with him.

I respect his close ties with his family, but I don't think we can have a proper long term relationship if the supposed most important people in his life don't even know about each other...

Any suggestions what I should do....it really is upsetting me and making me feel like I'm not important to him.

Oh I should add, I have met nearly all of his friends and all of his brothers and sisters so it's just his parents I haven't met.

Thanks,
    James

2. LovexGinger

Hey