1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

in need of direction

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by browneyedboy, Jul 24, 2011.

1. browneyedboy

the title pretty much sums it all up,
    i feel completely and utterly lost at the moment and have no idea
    what to do about it. everything just seems to be going nowhere
    and i feel as if i'm existing rather than living.

firstly i hate what i'm studying (think maths and finance and all that shit), find it so boring and don't want to continue,
    however, if i did it would end in a job that would pay really well. i would
    much rather be doing something more creative but there's not much where
    the money is good, so i have agreed to stick out the rest of the year and changing the following year but am so dreading going back tomorrow, i actually feel sick. i also feel like people have got expectations of me to succeed and have those same
    expectations, so have no idea what to do. (my parents will support my
    decision, but want me to finish the year).

secondly and most importantly i feel as if being closeted is suffocating me. even though i easily get along with people and interact well, i'm finding it difficult to be around my friends, and feel as if i'm distancing myself from everyone and am afraid to make new friends until i come out, so as not to set myself up for unnecessary rejection. Im also really eager to come out as i really don't want to waste my early twenties being closeted and not living true to myself. however my brothers are both in school and i am afraid they will get mocked because of me, if i come out, the school is a hell hole, where i was mocked and teased for being "gay" before i even knew it myself. I am so close to telling my mother, but she has got so much going on that, even though i'm 100% sure she would support me, i don't want to add to her worries.