1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Next steps

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Bowie, Aug 1, 2011.

1. Bowie

Since I've joined EC, I've come out of the closet to one friend. I feel great, comfortable, and, to my own amazement, I actually feel happy for being gay sometimes. That's fantastic.

On the other hand, I'm not quite out of the closet yet. Far from that, in fact. The friend I've told lives very far away and never comes here, so I've only talked to him over the internet about being gay. Also, I haven't told my parents or anyone else that I'm actually close to. I'm trying to figure out what to do next. Most likely, I'll just let things flow naturally, but I've found that posting stuff here actually makes some unexpectedly good advice pop up. So, I'll write some relevant information here. If you think you have something to say about my case, please do.

I'm a freshman Law student in the São Paulo area (I've started the course in February). My hometown is not São Paulo, so I spend about 3 weekends a month away, at my parents' house. As I have been living and studying here for a relatively short period of time, I don't have any truly close friends (being away most weekends doesn't help either). There are about 4 people from university I'd say are my friends. I'm not excessively shy and I'm actually kind of friendly, in such way that relatively many people know me there. However, I'm not, by any means, a typical university student. I don't enjoy college parties, dancing, drinking or "going crazy". Also, I've never had a relationship, with boys or girls, and I've never kissed anyone (let alone have sex). In my hometown, I have a circle of good friends. One of those friends is gay.