1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timing of coming out to parents

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by GatorFan, Nov 26, 2007.

1. GatorFan

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hello hello!

I found empty closets a few weeks ago; this is a pretty cool site. I just wanted to see if I could get some advice from people who have been through this before.

I'm gonna throw out some general background information about myself and then pose a question.

I'm a student at UF, 21, I'm gay, and I have known for a long time (since I became sexually self-aware I would say.) I've never really felt that this fact made me different from any other guys, so I don't act accordingly different. It would be fair to say that the point I'm getting at is that I don't fit the stereotypical 'gay' mold; I do my own extensive car repair, I suck at interior decoration, I'm a huge football fan, etc. All the things any decently grounded person like those that read this forum know, but something that sadly seems to escape a large portion of society. Thus, most of the people around me would not 'guess' I am gay. I don't make it a point to tell people and the only clue they would have is that I haven't had a girlfriend. It's not that I'm hiding the fact (I'm not, I just tell people now if they ask or it comes up) but it's not something I feel I should tell everyone.