1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by MusicMan12, Sep 7, 2011.

1. MusicMan12

Ok so this is my first post on here, so here we go...

A little about myself: I'm a sophomore in college and I am gay, but closeted (sad, I know). I've told my parents, but they didn't "believe" that I am gay, so we haven't talked about it since that day.

Anyway, I have two things I would like advice about...
    1) There is a Pride group at my school, and I would love to join it to meet other LGBT people and just to hear about their stories and stuff, but I'm afraid that if I join, all it will do is out myself. There was a meeting today, and I walked all the way there, then turned around...I really would love to join, but the fear is too much. What do you think I should do?

2) There is this guy I really am becoming attracted to. He is gay and he is out to everyone. But since I'm closeted, I really can't just "ask him out". I'm trying to get him to just "find out" that I'm gay, without me telling him or anything. Bottom line: It would be amazing if he asked ME out. Do you have any advice about this situation?

Thanks for listening, I know these are pretty stupid problems. I know there are people out there that have bigger problems than me, but I would appreciate ANY advice that you could give!!

2. Gallatin

I can't really advise you on the latter, as I haven't been in that situation. Yet.

However, I can relate very well to your first dilemma. I'm also a sophomore at college, out to my parents and one best friend who goes to a different school. I'm not out to anyone at my school, though, and the thought of being so frightens me for some reason.
    There is a Pride group at my school as well, and I've been giving a lot of thought to going. I've walked past the room so many times without being able to go in; overwhelmed by fear at the last moment.