1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DhammaGamer, Sep 30, 2011.

1. DhammaGamer

So first of all, hello everyone. This is my first post here. Nice to meet you in advance. Just a quick introduction, I'm a 24yr old bisexual male living in michigan. I'm a college student and work as a debt collector. I'm Buddhist. I live with my girlfriend and our dog and two cats.

ANyways, I've been searching for some place to ask for advice, and don't have really anywhere to go. My therapist helps, but she said I need to seek out help from peers. I don't have any gay or bisexual friends, and although I told my family I am Bi, they kind of ingore the issue.

I guess I should probably lay some groundwork before I get into things. So, I have been living with my girlfriend since the day we met 3.5 years ago. We have our ups and downs, but we love eachother and always manage to push through any challenges or struggles we face. A year and a half into our relationship, I admitted to her that I had sex with a guy once a couple years prior and that I was bisexual. It was the first time I had ever come out to anybody, and it was TERRIFYING.

She didn't dump me though, and wasn't too freaked out. She encouraged me to come out to others, like my close friends. I ended up telling a couple friends as well, which was definitely liberating but their responses were varied and some seemed pretty uncomfortable with the whole topic. During this process, I was going a through a serious identity crisis. I had never revealed this side of my personality to anyone except for the one partner I had, and I felt like a piece of me was finally able to express itself to the world.