1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I like my Straight best friend...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by teebyrd86, Oct 2, 2011.

1. teebyrd86

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    I know you have all probably heard this senario before: gay guy falls in love with best friend. Well I feel this is a bit different but again I am new to this happeneing so here is my story and any advice would help.

I met this guy a couple of years ago when I first moved here alone and single; he was one of the first people to bring me into his circle of friends and introduce me to a lot of great people here.. I am very greatful to have met him and he is true friend. I came out to him last year and he was very supportive about it; I stayed up many nights with him on the phone crying about my problems and recently so has he. He just broke up with his girlfriend of 6 years; his first girlfriend. She moved to Colorado for a summer job, ended up staying there and moving in with a guy. He is heart broken but understands that he wont get her back and he feels that she is not to blame saying he took her for granted and regrets it.. I always felt they were more like brother and sister type relationship you know? Anyway they are both great people but at different phases in life and I have done all I can do to help support him and lift his spirits.