1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Roommate trouble

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Cynicite, Oct 3, 2011.

1. Cynicite

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    So I'm a freshman living on campus at college. I have two roommates, one I'm cool with and the other I'm very pissed off at. Before we even moved in, we had a lot of shared interests but completely different ideologies. He's very pretentious, belittling, and judgmental. I let him know when he says or does something I find rude or intolerable, which resolves with him waiting a few days before doing or saying it again. I've called him out on some major things, like masturbating in the middle of the night in the same room as me and my other roommate (Which ended up backfiring on me since he told everyone he knew that I was having wet dreams of him). And now I'm one more issue away from snapping on him. I can even see what the next issue will be, since he has set himself to hate one of my friends vehemently for no apparent reason. I don't know how to handle living with him for one more day, let alone the rest of the school year. I talked with my floor's RA and my student adviser about changing dorms, but both of them told me it was too late in the year for that. Any help on dealing with him? I feel like I'm at the end of my rope here.

2. ukeye

ukeye Guest

ugh the roommate thing..

Look, your always going to have noisy neighbours in life.. somewhere in your life. So I suggest you stick to the old policy.. keep your friends close, your enemies closer.

Tell him nothing, don't be his friend.. if he asks about your personal life cut him off. Learn how to say no to him, and continually ignore his bantering for attention. Eventually it will sort it self out.. ppl like this just want attention is all. His hate for your friend is this case in point.