1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Liking someone because they're gay? Or because you ACTUALLY like them.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Makaio1, Oct 3, 2011.

1. Makaio1

Hi Guys,

It's been a while since I posted on here.

Backstory: I decided this summer that I was to come out of the closet. I am studying in America for a year so decided this would be the perfect base to be able to do this - where noone knew me previously and that I could truly be myself. This has worked well thus far.

However, I have now got in a slight dilemma. There is this guy who likes me. We know eachother, hang out now and again and have mutual friends. We had a little encounter when I was drunk which involved me finding out he liked me, me kissing him and then walking away. He text me saying that he likes me and I told him that I want to get to know him first but this needs to be done when we're both sober. He agreed.

Everything was fine until a party last weekend where I was sober and he wasn't. He started making a move on me where I just suddenly froze and kind of blew it off. He just ended up walking away and I felt super awkward. (No-one has EVER said they liked me before, let alone make a move on me. I am a lot more confident when drunk.)

Now, in hindsight I am starting to like him but I can't tell whether I like him because he is gay or I like him because I genuinely do like him. Does this make sense? Has anyone else felt this before? I don't want to take it any further atm because I don't want to string him along without knowing exactly how I feel. Can anyone offer some advice on how to approach the situation? (Maybe from past experience?)

(*hug*)

2. RaeofLite