1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My parents doesn't want me to come out... yet

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by kunglaomksm, Oct 4, 2011.

1. kunglaomksm

I don't what to feel about that. A huge part of me wants to come out to my friends and I even shared some coming out videos(of other people) on facebook. My mom saw it(she's the only one who saw it I guess)and said to me to not post like that and she said there will come a time to do that. I guess dating will not come to me until that 'right' time will come. I guess they're more afraid of me coming out than me. I don't even know why is there intention(maybe they're not ready to tell others they have a gay son). I mean since I came out to them, I always have this urge to really come out. I guess I'll have to remain closeted until I graduated college. I can't even think of more lies about myself anymore when my friends and I talk about stuff. I mean having a girlfriend that doesn't exist is the greatest lie I've ever said to them. Good thing they didn't speculate about that.

You guys think I should remain closeted and follow my parents?

2. maverick

Uh, no. I think anyone over the age of 18 needs to come out of the closet, regardless of how their parents feel.

At 19, you are an adult. You steer your own life's ship. Don't let your parents make this decision for you.

Plus, college is the BEST TIME to be a young gay, as far as dating and whatnot goes. Don't let the opportunity to mingle with your tribe slip away just because your folks are afraid to come out of the closet as the parents of a gay man.