1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

this is really difficult

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by bdman, Oct 6, 2011.

1. bdman

Hi,

I can't believe I'm typing this. This seems so strange. I am completely new to all of this and just finally beginning to come out to myself although a little later in life than some of you.

I can trace back to knowing I was different to around 12 or so. I didn't understand what was wrong with me, just thought I was weird. At some point in my mid teens, It was obvious I was not attracted to girls. I knew there were guys I seemed to want to hang around with, but I didn't connect it with sexual attraction. It was more like, I wanted to be like them, get my hair cut like them, look like them or just wanted to hang around them b/c we had the same interests. Buy the time I did realize there was sexual attraction, I buried it and tried not to think about it. I was raised in extreme christian fundamentalism. So I just told myself I was weird and resigned my self to being alone for life. I never once even allowed myself to even think I was gay. It's amazing how you can wire you brain to believe almost anything. This must be what it feels like to go through a conversion or ex-gay camp.