1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Had to put my cat to sleep. I need a hug.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by seeksanctuary, Oct 11, 2011.

1. seeksanctuary

I woke up this morning around nine to use the bathroom. Two of our cats sleep in there during the night due to medical issues; Nermal, our old male, and Speedy, his half-sister.

Speedy was crouching near the toilet. There was puke and poo everywhere. She started snarling at me... she NEVER snarls at me. Ever. She developed epilepsy when I was a Freshman in High School; she was three-ish at the time. She powered through it, but within the last year, she's had so many issues... she just got too old and too sick. She would have been 13 this coming April. She's been sick for a while, and I just knew in my gut that this time was it.

We managed to get her into a carrier, and took her to the vet. I went in with my fiance; my mom was in no shape to come in, and didn't want to see Speedy like that anyhow. The vet said she was blind and that's why she was hissing; she was scared and couldn't recognize us. They think she threw a blood clot and had a stroke. There was nothing we could do, so we did the kindest thing we could and put her to sleep. I stayed with her, and it is by far the hardest thing I have ever had to do in my fucking life.

She went quickly, I guess. It was all over in a minute or two, from start to finish. My fiance gave me some time alone with her. I didn't want to leave her there, but I knew it wasn't "her" anymore. I still just feel like I left my baby girl behind, and will never get her back. I just kept wishing I could go back one more day, so I could hug her and hold her and give her catnip and... I don't even know. Knowing she's not in pain anymore doesn't help at all. It helps with the guilt but doesn't do a damn thing for the pain.