1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to adviser/employer?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by PerfectInsanity, Oct 13, 2011.

1. PerfectInsanity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So even though I feel great that I'm finally coming out to people and starting to gain my focus back on other aspects of my life, my experience during my graduate program so far has suffered from my lack of focus while I was dealing with the closet. After I graduated with my undergrad I immediately went into a field project to start off my Master's degree and let's just say there was a pretty big learning curve to begin with. Top this off by the fact that my faculty adviser was gone on sabbatical during my whole first semester of grad school. And, of course, still being in the closet got exceedingly worse for me as I continued to not have anyone to talk to or anyone else around that I knew was gay. Seeing all of my friends having long term relationships, getting married, and even one friend having a baby, I definitely started to feel the weight of being in the closet that much more. Well, here I am into my fifth semester at grad school and just now coming out. While I have been gradually getting work done on my thesis (data analysis, beginning to write the actual thesis), there is still a fair bit left for me to do. My adviser has never really been good with communication or setting deadlines, and I have also dropped the ball countless times in communicating with him or trying to meet my own deadlines.