1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out help?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Blkrsn, Oct 13, 2011.

1. Blkrsn

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello!

Sorry, this is my first time posting on this site, so sorry if I posted this in the wrong area.

I have been struggling with my sexuality for years, and after experimenting with a guy, I realized that men just don't turn me on at all - in fact, the thought of sleeping with one is repulsive...

The community I'm from seem to be ok about Gay Guys, but for some reason, Lesbians are far and in between, and they desperately hide it.

Anyway, I am rambling. The point is, I'm a girl who is attracted to other girls. I think I am ready to start treading the waters on coming out, I want to date a girl. I am lonely, and at this rate, I'm turning into a crazy cat lady...

The only problem, is my Dad. He's Homophobic, but my best friend in the entire world. I've always looked up to him, and always turned to him for help. I've held off for so long on my feelings towards woman because I don't want to hurt my relationship with him, but I'm tired of being unhappy and lonely.

The Gay Helpline told me to wait until after I have a girlfriend to tell him, but I feel that would hurt him even more, as if he'll think I was afraid to tell him. He was the first person I went to when I admitted to being depressed. I'm scared that if I wait until after I get a girlfriend, that I will hurt him, but I am scared of ruining our friendship.

What should I do?

---------- Post added 13th Oct 2011 at 11:39 PM ----------