1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LGBT on campus advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by thevedman, Oct 20, 2011.

1. thevedman

Hey everyone, I was wondering about going to the LGBT group at my university. I just wanted some advice on stuff first though, I'm a researcher at the uni now and that technically makes me staff here, in that I have the odd bit of teaching responsibility and admin duties... I was just wondering if you think it puts me in a weird position if one of my students happened to be there, particularly since I'm out to some people, but not everyone...? I think it would be really nice to meet some other gay folks here, trouble is everyone assumes I'm straight and I find it difficult to just say 'actually I'm gay', so it would be nice to have some mates who just know. Anyway...

One of the lecturers in another dept which I used to be in is gay and really nice and I had thought about approaching her to ask her about it, but I don't know her that well and wasn't sure if that might seem a bit weird... any thoughts?

2. Jim1454

I don't think it would be weird to go to the LGBT group, and I don't think it would be weird to approach your past lecturer either. I had someone at work approach me to talk about this issue (in confidence) and I was flattered. I'm sure she'd be more than happy to talk to you.

3. thevedman

Cheers man, I think I might speak to her about it. Thanks for your response :slight_smile:

4. thevedman

OK I just an email to the LGBT group and... now I'm kind of freaking out! I mean I really want to start meeting other LGBT people, but this really scares the crap out of me that I've actually sent an email and got the ball rolling! How have other people got on at LGBT things on campus? I feel incredibly nervous all of a sudden! Would be good to hear some positive stories!!

---------- Post added 25th Oct 2011 at 05:10 PM ----------