1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I pick an appropriate time and when?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by jsmurf, Nov 6, 2011.

1. jsmurf

So as you might know, I came out to my brother shortly after my last birthday... Now I have this urge to inform my dad about it (only because im worried my mom might get really shocked from this news, she's a very emotionally-fragile person and i'm worried for her)... but at the same time, it feels weird telling my father i'm gay.. both parents are very loving and accepting, but even my dad might be so shocked, that he'll have a problem with his health (both parents have very high blood pressure and are not in their best health by far).

Ive been living at home with my family ever since I graduated from University in May, and I'm moving out to an apartment in Seattle next month. Should I begin by telling my dad before then? I'm thinking that if I tell him after I move out, it will feel less awkward the first few days since I wont have to be seeing him every day...

Then there's the issue of the roommates at the new apartment. 2 of them.. I dont know who the roommates will be (just college guys)... Should I inform them of my orientation before I tell my parents, or after? Either way I'll have to tell my future room-mates, since um... They'd have puzzled looks seeing that I *might* have a guy/guys come over to my room unless they knew in advance...

Thanks again.

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone