1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A typical day at work...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by time4change, Nov 10, 2011.

1. time4change

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I wanted to start with a little background before I write about what happened to me today. I am only out to about 7 people, 6 of which are gay or bisexual. My family has no idea, nor do any of my close friends. I'm still dealing with how to come out but thats a different story. I'm a teacher and today during lunch I had 3 teachers join me for lunch in my room. I don't even know how it started but one of the teachers began talking about a student who they assume is gay. They were not necessarily saying nasty things about the kid but in their comments you could tell that they do not agree. I hate when someone starts a sentence with, I don't care who you love, but..... If you really didn't care this would be a non-issue. What makes me sad about this conversation is that my best friend (who doesn't know about me) was there making comments against gays. Every comment felt like she was slashing me with a knife. I took each one personally. I hated the fact that I didn't have the courage to stand up for me and that child. All I did was listen, I had no comments. It was so obvious that they asked me if I was ok because I didn't seem right today. I really was torn and couldn't even finish my lunch. I want to come out to my friend but comments from her like this push me further into the closet. :icon_sad:

2. mnguy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people