1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out over a Holiday?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by FJ Cruiser, Nov 14, 2011.

1. FJ Cruiser

I'll just add to the chorus echoing how much this site has helped me, and thanks for all the support so far.

Ever since I seriously came to terms with being gay a few months ago, I've been making a plan to come out to my parents. I'm a freshman in college, and I was hoping by this time to have a good circle of friends I was out to, continuing my straight-A's, and being much more outgoing than I ever was in high school. I wanted this more for myself, but I felt that if I could show my parents I was completely successful yet gay, then it would ease the news on them, show them that my homosexuality is neither a limitation nor a deficiency.

Well, so much for plans...

I'm not doing as well as I'd hoped on any of those fronts, particularly the friends situation. I've related my struggles to my parents, and it's clear I'm not thriving yet. Despite this, I feel like that time to tell them (and my roommates) is approaching.

The next time I'll see my parents will be next week over Thanksgiving. I've been contemplating telling them, but I don't want to ruin their holiday, and I'm not sure I'm ready to come out anyway. Also, one of my suitemates wants to room with me next year, and I need to decide by Thanksgiving as well. I would room with him, but I'm not sure how he'd feel about rooming with a gay guy. He's a self-professed open-minded liberal (which from what I can tell, he is), but at the same time, he believes homosexuality is a sin, though not one worthy of any more judgement than any other sin.