1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do you think here?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Hidinginalabama, Nov 22, 2011.

1. Hidinginalabama

Ok so here is my thing. I'm 22 years old and a union construction worker. I have been working for three years as a boilermaker and my father work for 40 years as a boilermaker as well. So I have been around the trade for all my life. I dont want the guys at work to know about me being gay just because I know they would give me shit all the time. They already tell gay jokes all day and its getting really old. I mean old as in I want to start yelling at the next person that says a joke or some comment about gays. But here is the thing every one at work knows my family really well. They always ask what I'm up to, who I'm dating and things like that. Its getting so bad that they even are starting to know when I'm lying to them. I dont know what to do here. Does any one have advice on how to hide your real life from people at work? Thanks for any advice.

2. Jim1454

You lie. And you keep lying.

But that gets old before very long. And I think people start to see through it too.

Here's a thought. Who says you can't be the first openly gay boilermaker? Your dad is respected, you seem to be well liked. Perhaps you can change some hearts and minds regarding gay people by coming out.

Something to think about.

3. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi there! Jim pretty much summed up my thoughts already. The more you try to hide, and pretend that you are not gay, even if it is just at work, will have an impact on you. In fact, in can cause or create even more stress for you at work, because you are actually spending a significant amount of time with your co-workers and have to interact with them.