1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get over this Internalized Homophobia

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by The Omega Man, Nov 25, 2011.

1. The Omega Man

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I don't know what it is. Here's the lowdown about my situation:

I'm 19 and in college. I'm out to A LOT of my friends, but no family. But still, a lot of my friends and classmates don't know.

I still feel really ashamed though. I honestly still feel like i'm in the closet thought. I don't express my gay feelings about other guys I see. I don't really mention that i'm gay at all and I don't want to.

If someone mentions that i'm gay i'll get really tense and want to change the subject quickly because i'm so embarrassed.

I'm terrified to tell my family although I shouldn't be. I really feel bad for being gay but i've been coming out for about 3 months now. Shouldn't I be over these inferior feelings?

2. Aielar

Not necessarily. The way I see it, coming out has various stages, some of them harder than others. I believe that coming out to family is much harder and much more terrifying than coming out to friends. At least, that holds true for my coming out experience. Like you, I still haven't told any of my family - just friends, and even when among friends I don't feel that comfortable talking about being gay. The reason for that is most of them are heterosexual, so whenever I bring it up, things get a little uncomfortable.

I no longer feel ashamed to be who I am, and I wouldn't change myself if I could. Returning to your question - Shouldn't I be over these inferior feelings? - I'd recommend doing some self examination to find out exactly why you feel bad for being gay. Maybe it's because we're a minority, or that in some places we aren't widely accepted or supported yet. I don't know what makes you feel that way, it's something you'll have to figure out.