1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Abusive boss

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by KittyKat05, Nov 28, 2011.

1. KittyKat05

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've been working as a server at this place since July 2011, and in Canada (i'm not sure about other countries, this is why I'm specifying) I'm past my probation period.

I'm concerned about my work place, at first I thought I was crazy, but I have never met such a miserable man in my whole life. My boss constantly verbally abuses the staff, myself included, and I'm not in the position at the moment to quit my job because my family is moving to another province in a month.

It started out that I was being screamed at, and I'm not over exaggerating, for things that make sense. For example, I was new and I would accidently take food to the wrong table because I didn't understand the table orders, or I would forget things.

However, it's been a while and I'm completely confident in my job and the scolding completely stopped towards me. Last Sunday however, I made a mistake and I took the wrong food to the table. This wasn't entirely my fault because the bill was up and it was an identical order to another one. He got -really- mad at me, even though I hardly make mistakes. Ever since then my boss has been giving me a really hard time.

For example, you're suppose to write a bill a certain way, which I did, the cook read it wrong and the manager blamed ME. He gave some excuse that it was "too small" even though my printing was perfectly ok before.