1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

seeing a psychotherapist this friday

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by jsmurf, Nov 28, 2011.

1. jsmurf

I decided that since I've been hiding in the closet for so many years (almost to the point of paranoia in many cases), it might be healthy to talk about my issues and lingering fears with a professional counselor who might be schooled in what kind of advice to dispense of. Insurance should cover the cost of the visits, and I've told my parents about it... My dad asked, "why not just tell us now what bothers you, since you say it's neither mental illness nor depression"? I replied, "I still feel too embarrassed to tell you and mom", to which he answered, "Is it something sexual?... well never mind, I'll let you sort it out with the psychotherapist first." So I'm glad he at least got a hint, to cushion any shock he might receive from the final news later on.

Presumably, the first thing I'll ask the counselor is how to come out to my Parents and extended acquaintances. I realize this site has already given me suggestions, but seeing a professional face-to-face might help smooth out the transition to finally coming out to my parents and eventually those in the wider world important enough to know.

I'll post updates in this thread to let you know if anything changes as a result of my consultation with the therapist.

Maybe 3-4 visits will prove sufficient. By the same token, I'm well aware that as much depends on my own intuitions and feelings as the help that I'll receive.

#1 jsmurf, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    It sounds like you're going in with the right frame of mind. Just make sure you open up fully, as tough as it might be. Hopefully, you'll be in a better spot soon. :slight_smile:

Lex

3. Jessica816