1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling trapped.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by InsertNameHere, Dec 13, 2011.

1. InsertNameHere

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Knowing me, this will probably end up being a huge wall of text, so sorry about that. I'll try to make this as brief as possible, though.

I started to realize that I might be gay the summer before high school (Great time, eh?), and I am in my first year of college now. I only ever told one of my friends that I was gay, and I knew she wouldn't care because she was bi. But I didn't exactly tell her because I was coming out. I got a text from a friend (girl) that said "I Love You" the day before graduation. I was texting her about it, and basically it came up in the conversation. But as it turns out, that friend's cousin had just gotten a hold of her phone and was messing with me. >_<

Anyways, I always told myself in high school that I would come out in college, but... well it's not that simple. For one thing, it's community college, so I'm basically in the same crappy place with the same people, just minus the people I actually liked from my old school (but plus a few cool people).

Some of the reasons I haven't come out:

1. Scary.

2. It never really seemed to matter that much anyways. After about a year of denial, I didn't really care that I was gay, but I didn't see much point in coming out. I live in a state that isn't the most Southern place in the U.S., but it's definitely, at least where I went to high school, "The South." There was maybe 2 or 3 out gay guys that not many people knew, possibly, but I only knew one was gay for sure, and I didn't feel like anyone would want to date me anyways, so I didn't see much point in coming out.