1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what if your teacher came out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by 55, Dec 17, 2011.

1. 55

As my name suggests, I'm 55 (for another 2 days anyway).

Among all the other things I'm struggling with in my plan to come out (35 years married, 3 adult children), I'm a teacher. I'm just curious what you younger ECers think I'll have to deal with at school? I'm talking about from students (LGBT and straight), faculty and staff, and parents.

On one hand, I don't want to change jobs and would like to be someone LGBT students can come to for advice (or at least a model for what not to do), but on the other hand, it might just be easier to start over in a new school where I haven't spent years pretending to be something I'm not.

I look forward to your thoughts. I'll be staying in the closet until the school year ends in June, but since my wife now knows, we'll be splitting up in the spring. I'd really like to live just one life for a change.

2. IanGallagher

I'd like to tell you an honest opinion, since I'm only 23 and just graduated last year, but in all honesty? I really don't know what to do.

Situation # 1 - You stay at the school and come out. Students who have had you in previous years may have seen you living a lie. No offense meant in phrasing. I just see it as, "well, why did you feel like you had to hide?" "Maybe I can hide too, then come out much later." It could backfire in those regards. It could make it seem like there was something wrong with being gay.

Situation # 2 - You stay at the school and come out. Students who have had you in previous years may see it as a very brave thing to do and may not want to repeat your mistakes. It might inspire a couple to come out and you can stand tall as an LGBT guy that has made it.