1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wishing in Waynesville

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by BreeBree, Jan 21, 2012.

1. BreeBree

Hi everyone, thanks for taking time to read this! Bear with me, I'm pretty new to this. Sooo a lot of stuff is going on in my life. But what I'm here for right now is...ahem..."outting". When I first realized, and let everyone else know I like girls, it was easy because my best friend and I kinda came to realize it...together. so we told people we knew well enough to know they'd be ok with it. But after a lot of drama that came about for several reasons we kinda fell apart. So now I've been exploring on my own and getting used to learning on my own. So far I haven't heard anything from anyone that has hurt my feelings. Except from my dad. Several of my friends and others who hear stories know I'm pretty much a lesbian, but I haven't had the courage to tell any family. Part of this is because I'm 97% certain my dad's a, how u say,homophobe. He's always making rude comments about being gay, and I'm not sure it would be safe for my mental health if he knew I was one of "them". I drop little hints when he makes comments, like he should be nicer and there's nothing wrong with it, and I'm hoping maybe I'll be ableto make him think a little more before he speaks. But how do I know he even cares who it hurts? And how do I know if I tell him he's hurting me, he won't freak out and try to deny me? My mom has asked me about it several times, because of stories she's heard, but before I have time to process it, I find myself denying it. Another reason I haven't approached them is because I know how the stereotype works. Suddenly everyone assumes when you talk to a person of your preffered gender, your suddenly interested in them. I'm afraid if my parents know they'll regulate the girls I hang out with just like they do with the guys I talk to. I don't wanna be ke