1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm afraid my writing will "out" me.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by scooby, Jan 21, 2012.

1. scooby

I'm a writer. Have been since my lil hands could hold a pencil. (Please don't take my forum comments as proof, as I tend not to edit myself much here.)

I have this big story I've been working on for months. I've got artwork for it and I'm hoping to make it into a "motion comic". I'm really proud of the effort I've put into it and I can't wait to let my followers on YouTube see it. I've been bragging about it and promising to upload it for a long while now.

The problem... I was discussing the plot with some friends and I realized that a rather large portion of the story involves a lesbian love triangle. And when I say "large portion", that means "a portion so large that if I took it out of the story the whole thing would fall apart". I know it sounds weird, but I honestly didn't see it as "lesbian" at the time - it was just that these three characters were obviously falling for each other and the story naturally progressed from there.

And now I look back on it and I think as soon as I publish this piece - at least the part where the girls start verbalizing their desires - I am going to be outed pretty publicly.

I don't want to hide this story. I LOVE this story, I love these characters, they deserve a chance to be seen and heard.

I don't want to out myself, either.

er, help...?

2. Ianthe

So, the people in your life presume that anyone who writes about queer characters must be queer?

That isn't necessarily the case, you know. You can just maintain that them being gay doesn't mean you are. Do you openly support gay rights? You can always say that you wrote your story about lesbian relationships in order to show how they are similar to straight relationships, out of a desire to support the cause.

3. BreeBree