1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unsure of a friends orientation?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Zaio, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Zaio

Zaio Guest

Hi all, I'm new to theese forums and hopefully you will be able to help me with a dilemma i have.

A while back I did some things with a friend of mine that at the time I thought was nothing. Now, a few years later I am 100% sure of my orientation and I have a huge crush on this guy, however I am unsure if he is gay/bi/straight. He doesn't really have any noticeable "gay habits" and it is possible he was just simply experimenting a while back. I was also informed I was not the only one he was experimenting with back then, by him.

As I have a huge crush on him now, I really want to ask him out, however I am very nervous about the whole situation. The main problem is what if it turns out he is indeed straight? I really value him as a friend and I dont want to lose that, however I really want to be with him. Please don't say to just go for it, while I agree that friends who don't tolerate gays aren't real friends, it is certaintly a different situation if you are asking the guy out, at least it is to me anyway. Even if he is straight and doesn't freak out about me asking him out, what if it is just really awkward to be around him from there on out?