1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I even come out of my friends?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Browncoat, Jan 26, 2012.

1. Browncoat

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Alright, so I’ll set a little background, I guess – I’m a sophomore in college, currently living with a roommate who I’m out to (basically, I told him, he said it was fine, and we haven’t discussed it since). This arrangement is fine, but next year a group of my four closest friends are transferring from their local community college to the college I’m currently at. They’re still looking/procrastinating with potential living arrangements next year, but they already invited me to be with them if they can find a decent priced 5-bedroom apartment (quite likely).

I would normally be ecstatic about this, except: I’m not out to any of them, and they are all hyper-conservative, evangelical Christians.

Now, the reason I’m questioning whether it would even be necessary to disclose my sexual orientation has to do with the atypical (I think?) nature of our social group – our ultra-nerdiness combined with the conservative evangelical overtones created a very asexual atmosphere for the lot of us. Any talk of “sexual desire” or interest was completely absent, and even with dating and the like, everything was really kept to ourselves.

With how terrifying it feels to even imagine coming out to them, I’m strongly considering the idea of simply continuing as before – keeping it all to myself. The main issues here: