1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Between a rock and a harder rock covered in spikes.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Tom E, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Tom E

First off: I've been in love with this site since the first day I discovered that it existed. The posts that I've read have been helpful in more ways than I could count, and the fabulous people out there that reply to threads often give better advice in two-three typed out sentences than most of my friends can in two-three hours (though they try, and love them dearly for it).

My dilemma = I was an assistant high school coach this season (the kind with long hours and low pay). I was asked to resign in the middle of the season because (among other erroneous reasons) one of the girls on my team claimed that I had made a pass at her.

*Before anybody assumes the worst in me, keep in mind a few things: I like guys my own age, she's an underage girl, and I would never consider putting my job in jeopardy by doing anything that stupid.*

I'm out to my friends, but have kept family/everyone else in the dark about my orientation because I know the negative way in which they will react.

If I come out to the administration of the school/parents/yadda yadda it will potentially clear my name of any wrong-doing (that I never did in the first place). However, if I am to come out, I will also have to deal with the general intolerance of everybody that I see on a day-to-day basis. Is my decision going to come down to choosing the lesser of two evils?

In my mind this is a lose-lose situation where I'm damned if I do and damned if I don't.

What should I do? What are your thoughts?

*I'll elaborate and share any detail that I may have inadvertently left out with how hastily this has been typed up.

2. Sunsetting

Sunsetting Guest

This was well written.