1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any.. Teachers, or anyone part of a school administration?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Koll, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Koll

I was wondering if I could talk to someone in that area, as I have sort of a problem with my education and I want to know my options..

I'm in my second semester of Grade 11 with 1 english credit, no other credits. My school won't let me try for a GED or give me any options besides sending me to a special needs classroom..

I feel set up for failure. I don't know what to do..

Or anyone who's been in my situation? What'd you do?

#1 Koll, Feb 22, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  2. Gerry

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi. Feel free to PM me if you'd like to. I know the Canadian school systems are different from the US ones, but I'm a substitute teacher and might be able to give you some advice.

3. Marlowe

I am a high school math teacher in the states. You are in an interesting place, and I would need to know a bit more about how you have pursued the GED option, and why you are two years behind in english, because frankly based on this sample of writing, you write better than many of the students in my school, who i promise you will graduate come June. Secondly, why is their only option special ed? This does not make sense to me, versus night/ summer school. Do you have what in the states is called an IEP or a 504, which makes you eligible for special education services? Shoot me a message, and hopefully I can be help.

My one piece of advice is that you need to strongly advocate for yourself. Talk to your parents about this. Ask questions about why these are your only options. Demand that work with you to set out a specific plan for your to graduate if they won't let you get your GED.

4. Koll

Thanks for replying, both of you :slight_smile: