1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Ability to be "Happy"

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TLM12512, Feb 23, 2012.

1. TLM12512

This is only my second post on EC. Im still learning. But I figured with all the members that someone out there might have some advice for me, or has been in the same situation. I live a straight lifestyle, really into sports, like to workout and chill with my friends. I am attracted to my friends however. I have fallen for my best friend, and this isnt the first time ive fallen for my best friend. So i guess I have to questions:

1. How to get over my best friend, I know he is not gay, and I still get jealous when I see girls come up to him and stuff in the bar, I want to stay close, but I need these feelings of being in love to stop.

2. Is there any discrete way to meet guys like me? I know to some it might sound fake, but I would love to just continue my straight lifestyle, and have that one dude I care about. I want them to act straight like i do. Any advice?

Thanks!!!

2. Jim1454

Hi there, and welcome to EC! You've come to the right place.

I want to correct one false idea that you seem stuck on. That the 'lifestyle' that you're living is a straight one. Because it isn't. It's A lifestyle. YOUR lifestyle. The fact of the matter is, you ARE gay, yet you like sports, hang with your friends, go to the gym, etc. There's nothing stopping a gay man from having that kind of a lifestyle - because you're gay and you're living it. NOTHING would need to change if you were to come out.

Now, to answer your questions.

I think the answer to number 1 is to figure out number 2. But it's hard to do with this notion of a straight lifestyle, so I'm going to ignore that for now.