1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out fast... but

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Dandelion, Dec 30, 2007.

1. Dandelion

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi there all... I was very happy to find this forum. : ) Thanks to any that read!

So basically, the synopsis of me coming out is: for years it was not even a consideration that I might be gay. It wasn't that I thought being gay was wrong (tho I was pretty hardcore Christian up until five or six years ago... I am now Pagan), but it just never occured to me that that's what I was. First, I thought I was a slow developer (I have always been slow on the sexual uptake... on any subject), as I hung on to the boys-are-gross mindset a LOT longer than my peers. Then, I thought I was just "pure" or "being a good Christian," because after all, in Christianity, sex is bad (unless you are making babies... maybe). I even seriously considered entering the convent for two main reasons: one, I didn't want men to look at me, let alone touch me; two, I am not into the typical materialistic mainstream American society and wanted something more meaningful in my life. Then, I latched on to the idea that I was asexual (though I hated that term... I can't reproduce by myself... so I said "non-sexual"). As soon as I heard that term explained, I thought, that's me! After all, I had never crushed on a girl any more than I had crushed on a guy (read: never). So anywho... sometime during the nonsexual period I started questioning whether I was gay or not, and I kept rationalizing that I wasn't, I was just more *comfortable* around women because they weren't always hitting on me. At the time I had been forced to move back in with my parents for a while, due to loss of my job and then I went back to school for a year so that I might have more stable job prospects... and to make a long story short, my relationshi