1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A torn heart

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by orangecat, Mar 11, 2012.

1. orangecat

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm a 20 year old guy from the US and I am currently studying abroad in Australia. A couple weeks after I got here I broke up with my boyfriend of eight months. I have post-traumatic stress disorder and lots of anxiety to accompany and he has severe depression. The emotional toll on me was too much since I got here because he was constantly telling me his suicidal feelings, etc like he has always done but I'm not in the US to console him. Both of us struggling emotionally is extremely challenging. And I kind of felt like I was responsible for his emotions, because he told me things like "you're my only true friend" and how I have saved his life (literally) multiple times. It's a really big burden. Besides the conflicting emotional needs the relationship was so loving. Filled with happiness, joy, laughter, and support when we both needed it most (pending that we were in an emotional state that allowed us to be supportive). He said some pretty cruel stuff and offensive stuff in the relationship and during this whole breakup process that made me unable to tell him how I felt at times. I can't help but still love him though. He's my first real love and relationship. I found a stuffed animal he gave me when I was feeling anxious one night and burst into tears tonight. I don't know if I should go back to him or not.