1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A little disappointed.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by BudderMC, Mar 20, 2012.

1. BudderMC

Last year I was a (closeted) rep for Welcome Week at my school. That year, I also wasn't in the program I am in now. Over the course of this year, my two big things were that I came out, and I'm now studying something I actually really enjoy. I also loved being a rep, so I applied again to be one this upcoming year. I went through the application and interview, and it went mostly well. During the interview, I was a little nervous near the end because in responding to the "What sets you apart?" question, I did explain (impromptu) how coming out was the big change for me, as a rep, between last year and now in connecting with students.

I got the results back, and I'm on a waiting list of sorts. It isn't too bad, because many people give up their spots all they way up until the week before Welcome Week, so there's a fair chance I can still get a spot. The thing is, I went through this process very unsure whether or not I should mention my coming out. I mean, given they want a diverse group of people so all the students can relate to someone, I figured explaining I was LGBT (or could be visibly LGBT) wouldn't necessarily hurt my chances. I decided that if I was going to rep again, I was going to do it on my own terms... and for whatever reason, it backfired on me.

I'm kinda happy that I'm still being considered, when I presented myself as myself. But still, I'm bummed that for whatever reasons, 'myself' isn't as good as I was last year, when I got a spot from the start. I know they give preference to new reps over returning reps, but I'm not sure how big a role that plays in the decision making. Pretty much I'm at that point now where I'm looking over everything I did, and what might have been 'bad'.