1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awkward Feelings

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by imdatguy, Apr 19, 2012.

1. imdatguy

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I am a freshman in high school and have been pretty sure i was gay for sometime now so... last night before bed i said good night to my mom and hugged her then i said mom I'm gay she said what and i said I'm gay! the room went silent and i kept hugging her she then said well how ddo you know and i said i just do. we sat on my bed and she started questioning me i was going to freak out but i stayed calm and just mumbled some awnsers since then i feel akward around her and on my way to school she gave me "the talk" :dry: i acted dumb lol and even though she accepted me i think that even though she was trying to comfort me she used the wrong words and now i kind of feel unsure of my sexuality like I'm 99.9 percent gay but a little uncertain and i sure its not a phase because i have had crushes on guys in the past before this

2. fireworks

fireworks Guest

Same thing happened to me with my dad. Don't worry about it, I think it's just best to sit her down and say, "Mom, I am definitely gay." At the moment she is a little confused, a little unsure. It must have come as a shock, so you just need to give her a little time to adjust. She may believe that it is just a phase, like many parents do, in which case you should definitely speak to her, make her understand. Downloading info off the internet for her can be helpful too.
    Hope that helps xx

3. snowflurry

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay