1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Friendships and Social Anxiety

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Atticus, Apr 19, 2012.

1. Atticus

Hello, guys. So, I have severe anxiety which seems to centralize around social aspects (I have not been officially diagnosed with social anxiety disorder or general anxiety, but my last therapist had a very strong suspicion that this was the case, as does my current counselor) and no friends. Well, I have a handful, but I don't like any of them. At all. I live two hours from home for school, so when I go back home, I don't have any friends there either. I would like to be able to go out and about with more than just my dog, dad, mom, or stepmom. I just don't know what to do. I've never been happy with any "friends" that I have been able to make, except for the ones I have only met on the Internet and not even always then. I'm a sophomore in college. I should be comfortable leaving my dorm room and at home I should be able to call up friends and go out. But I can't.

I guess I'm just looking for tips on how to move into the social world without having to have a panic attack. If any of you have the same sort of problem and have overcome, that would be great. Any advice would be swell. Thanks.

2. TyRawr

Board Member Full Member

well first of all I think that EC is a great place to learn to connect. Perhaps you could try taking an art class at a local college or studio somewhere, or try learning something new with a group of people. Thats a fairly safe place to connect with people. If you think about it, they are all there and dont know anyone else that is going to be there, and they are probably just as nervous as you are when it comes to trying something new and making new friends.

:grin: If I were there I would try and be your friend

3. dreamcatcher