1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating ex-boyfriends

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by socalguitarguy, Apr 24, 2012.

1. socalguitarguy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey all,
    I'm brand new to the world of gay dating. Lately I've found myself in an interesting situation. Basically, I met a guy on a dating website and met up with him one night after work. Then we had dinner the next week, and later on set up a hike to go on for the following weekend. A couple days before the hike I went out with another guy from the website for the first time. This second guy and I got along real well, and chatted a little bit about our experiences on the website. At one point the guy (let's call him Guy # 2) talked about a previous relationship he had had via the website that didn't last. He had some unflattering things to say about the guy he had been seeing. Then he named him . . . it was the other guy I'd been going out with (aka Guy # 1)!

I went on the hike with Guy # 1 a couple days later and had a good time, but at this point I'm not really feeling interested in a relationship with him. I meant to give him the "friend talk" at the end of the hike, since a "where is this going" evaluation seems to be a fairly good idea for a third date. However, I wussed out, so I need to call him, probably tomorrow. I'd like to stay friends with him though. Meanwhile Guy # 2 has asked me out to dinner, and I said yes. I haven't told either of them that I've been seeing the other, and feel a little weird having that secret. I want to give Guy # 2 more of a chance but at this point I'm not really seeing a relationship with him in the future either. We get along well though, so it'd be cool to have him as a friend too.