1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out at work

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Creamcheese657, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Creamcheese657

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So I need some advice. I want to come out at work because of some things I've heard and just don't want them coming up in conversation any more.

Yesterday my manager and I were talking about the sister wives show on tlc and the conversation got shifted to gay guys with kids. She then went on to say that she thinks it so wrong for kids to have to see their two dads going into their room at night and have to see them kissing and holding hands and hugging.

I work at an online sales company with about 20 people. It's a very small company with lax rules and the management doesn't seem to exist. I have been working here for three months now and I like my manager we get along very well except I know what her feeling are for the gay community now.

I'm not sure how to go about this because I just came out. I'm out to everyone I know except work. I love my job but I'm worried coming out might make it hard to work here.

So how should I do it and should I be this worried?

2. EM68

This is a little tricky. You are in a state that does not have any workplace protections for gays. If you lived in another state like MA you could basically talk to you manager and tell her that you don't appreciate anti- gay remarks. She would not be able to take any actions against you because it would be against the law.

You said that you get along well with her, maybe you can just say there is nothing wrong with a same sex couple having kids along as there provide a loving home and leave it like that. I want to give you advice but I don't want to tell you to do something if you feel your job could be in jeopardy. What ever you decide let us know what happens.

3. Jim1454