1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out in a homophobic space.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Silenced, May 2, 2012.

1. Silenced

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey all,

Got a bit of an issue. I'm a first year law student - I love the course, and aside from one thing, the atmosphere is great. That one thing though is starting to get harder and harder to deal with; the thinking of 90% of the population of students (and some lecturers) seems to be incredibly archaic regarding sexuality.

It's normally not such an issue, but a lot of the banter now we're past the excessively-polite-because-we-don't-know-eachother-yet part is homophobic, to the point of "What is wrong with those people?" levels. Only in the last day or two has it gotten that extreme, but it's starting to grate. Last I checked, being gay wasn't something you could 'catch' (said sincerely, incredibly enough), nor was it 'unnatural', 'weird', 'sub-human' or any of the number of other words thrown around.

So being in a study group with an African girl who thinks it's an illness, and a strongly anti-gay Mormon guy is getting a little trying.

I know it'd be opening the door to a whole lot of abuse. I know I'd likely get the reputation of being 'the faggot'. I know it could actually hurt career prospects, given that this is the mindset of the field in general. But goddamn I want to turn around and call them on it. Actually starting to contemplate it as a genuine course of action.

I don't know whether I'm asking for advice or just venting, but any one who wants to jump in, please do.

2. Aldrick

How comfortable are you with yourself? Are you comfortable enough with defending your sexuality to others?