1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Casual Dating

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Steve712, May 25, 2012.

1. Steve712

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I'm considering dabbling into some casual dating at university, but I have very limited prior experience with it, so I have some questions.

Is there an established or common way to approach someone to ask them out on a date?

What is the best way to make it clear, without being rude, that it is just a single date for now and not a commitment for anything more?

How can I tell, discreetly, whether kissing is appropriate?

Is there an etiquette for stopping it at one date if I don't feel like continuing?

Thanks. :grin:

2. BudderMC

Disclaimer: I haven't dated so I'm no expert, but here's my point of view:

Isn't the whole point of going on dates to see if you're compatible or whatever in the first place? I mean, isn't it kind of implied that dates are a one-time deal unless there's some mutual spark that both parties are feeling, making them want to continue? I feel like if asking someone on a date was asking them to potentially be my boyfriend for the next 3 years, I would never go on dates...

Kissing? No idea. I'm sure it's one of those "if you know, you'll know". Just so long as you aren't being really pushy, it probably won't be a big deal. And I think if all else fails, you could just outright ask if they would be okay with you giving them a kiss; apparently some people find this bad, but I think it'd be cute.