1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Religious Parents? (Hope this isn't a repeat of another post)

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by takeitsaxman201, May 27, 2012.

1. takeitsaxman201

Out Status:
    A few people
    Hey...

So I'm new to the idea of coming out...I mean, I know what it is, but it never crossed my mind to actually consider coming out. My parents are DEVOUTLY Christian...my dad is an Assemblies of God pastor. They found out about my sexuality when I was in high school, and all my dad could say was, "so my son is a faggot??" He left the house and the subject wasn't brought up again until the summer after my freshman year of college (at a Southern Baptist institution, no less) when I was just about ready to pack my bags and leave. My mom came in and asked what I was doing and I just broke down. My dad was a little more gracious, but he insisted that I do conversion therapy. The organization he chose approaches the topic as a purely spiritual matter and tries to "Bible" your sexuality back to the place it needs to be.

Needless to say, it didn't work. I had to find a girlfriend to keep my parents from constantly doubting me. My dad has assured me that if I ever show signs again, I'm out on the curb.

Basically, I'm in it DEEP. And what complicates things is that I don't know who's right and who's wrong. I've been brought up my entire life to believe that my desires are immoral and abominable, but despite my prayers and my attempts at "deliverance," here I am.

Has anyone been through something similar? Does this get better?

2. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    First of all, welcome to EC! :slight_smile: I'm sorry to hear about your situation though - it sounds like you've been through a lot. Hope this site proves helpful.